Book #2-The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

After trudging through Ulysses, I found The Great Gatsby very enjoyable reading.

The story was an obvious parallel to the author’s life with Daisy representing Zelda and both Carraway and Gatsby representing Fitzgerald.  Many other similarities are found in the book; the Long Island locale, the overabundant alcohol, the excesses of the wealthy, the freeloaders, etc.

If I were to meet Fitzgerald, I expect I’d find a sad, but humble man who I could enjoy a seemingly simple, but deep conversation with.   This is a man I would most definitely like; not too upbeat, but certainly not downtrodden.

Pulling the plot together with a dark, but not unexpected ending, my rating is an 8 out of 10.

Next up, James Joyce’s (not my favorite author) A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man…

2 Comments

Filed under The Great Gatsby

2 responses to “Book #2-The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. I was hoping to see some of your thoughts on “the green light”…!

    • vsudia

      Yes, the mysterious and recurring green light of The Great Gatsby.

      To me, it was symbolic of the era’s urge to go, go, go and as it faded in and out throughout the book, served as a warning to slow down in order to see what was truly happening.

Leave a Reply

