Book #45-The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed anything Hemingway so rereading The Sun Also Rises reminded me why the man is so revered.  The seemingly simple writing and easy flow of dialog made this a reading treasure.

A group of expatriates living in Paris plan a fishing trip to Spain to culminate with bullfights in Pamplona.  Perhaps it is true that you really get to know people when you travel with them.  Well we certainly get to know this crew as they drink themselves into oblivion and behave quite badly along the way.  They are what is known as members of the lost generation whose outlandish behavior is said to be a means to detach themselves from the atrocities of WWI.

We first meet Robert Cohn as a young boxing champ at Princeton and falsely assume he is our main character.  He is subjected to anti semitic treatment for the first time and literally fights his way out.  He marries, fathers three children and divorces.  Urged on to Europe to pursue his passion for writing by a forceful woman, he does so and falls in with expats in Paris, leaving her behind.  Like many men before him, Cohn is smitten with Lady Brett, who he spends a weekend with, and like those men before him, is ‘summarily forsaken.

Jake Barnes narrates the story and doesn’t exactly paint himself in any flattering lights; impotent from a war injury, he yearns for love with Lady Brett, but knows her passion requires more than emotional adoration.  (For what it’s worth, I think Brett would dump Jake like she does all her other bed partners.)  He seems to be the most self-aware, yet carries on with blind acceptance.

Promiscuous and hard-drinking, Lady Brett Ashley makes no apologies for her self-indulgences and does as she damn well pleases.  Every man who meets her falls in love with her, but she is satisfied with the frequent weekend rendezvous which allows her to move on to other conquests.  She shouldn’t be likable, yet she is.  Perhaps it is the hints of an abusive relationship or the trembling of her hands before her first sip of a cocktail that allow her to garner some sympathy.

The young bullfighter, Pedro Romero becomes a fascination for the entire group of travelers, who all seem to adore him, but, alas, he captures the eye of Brett, who enjoys his bed for a short while and then abruptly sends him packing.

I feel a bit hypocritical here because I shouldn’t like any of these characters whose same qualities I recently criticized in my review of Point Counter Point.  They are racist, hedonistic boozers.   Their appeal is most certainly due to the Hemingway’s writing skill and of his ability to make the unsavory quite savory.

A nice little lunch with Mr. Hemingway would be a thrill.  Perhaps we could sip some Fundador and discuss his days as an expatriate in Paris.  Not sure I’d be able to match the likes of this hard drinking literary genius, but I’d give it my best shot.

My rating for The Sun Also Rises is a 9 out of 10.

To see the entire list,  visit Modern Library’s 100 Best Novels.

Please share your own reviews or  comments by using the link below.

Next up, Joseph Conrad’s The Secret Agent

5 Comments

Filed under The Sun Also Rises

5 responses to “Book #45-The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

  1. The Sun Also Rises was one of my least favourite Hemingway works, but I really liked the way Hemingway juxtaposed the brutal treatment of Cohn with the brutal treatment of the horses.

    My review here:
    http://eclectic-indulgence.blogspot.com/2009/11/ernest-hemingway-sun-also-rises.html

    • vsudia

      This was my second read of The Sun Also Rises and I must say I did it enjoy it much more the second time around. Was surprised it fell on the bottom of your Hemingway list. Do I recall correctly that you reviewed a non fiction book about bull fighting by Hemingway?

  2. Oh man, did I hate this book when I had to read it in college. Hated it. Surprisingly I really enjoyed A Farewell to Arms when I read it a while ago, although I was prepared to hate it just as much as TSAR. Hopefully I’ll have a more open mind when I read it again in adulthood. 🙂

Leave a Reply

