Book #83-A Bend in the River by V. S. Naipaul

For most of A Bend in the River, I was able to put aside my personal feelings about Mr. Naipaul, but it didn’t carry me all the way through (see more at the end).  Still, it was an entertaining tale of a young man without a country in jeopardy of blending too far into his new environment as a shopkeeper relocated to a fictional post-colonial African town.

Salim is the young Indian from a coastal African country who has willingly moved to a small town near the bend in the river to take ownership of a small store from an acquaintance whose daughter he has promised to marry.  While change is whirling around him, Salim seems unable to truly see what is happening and chooses to allow events to take him where they may, including a sexy young Brazilian seductress.  His apathy nearly takes his life and he must finally make decisions.

A customer from the bush, Zabeth, is said to be a magician.  She is also known for her offensive body odors, reportedly to repel unwanted male attention.  It is therefore comical that she asks Salim to watch over her sulky son who she sends to a nearby school.  Her wish for her son’s future drives her to travel frequently to and from the bush to sell her purchases.  There seems to be more to this woman than was delivered and I feel cheated at that.

Yvette, the alluring young Brazilian lives with her older professor husband, purportedly assisting the country’s leader.  She is quite fond of expensive clothes and confesses to marrying for the potentialities.   Her sexual appetite seems insatiable and  at times, brutal.  There was not much substance to this woman and if there were, it was absent in this writing.

Thus far there are only two living authors from the Modern Library list and Naipaul is one of them (Philip Roth, the other).  While I acknowledge Naipaul’s writing abilities, I fear a label of misogynist applies.  Perhaps I could disguise myself as a man and sit with Sir Naipaul and do my best to glean some of his literary talent while we enjoyed some Joan Baez.

Okay, so what disturbed me was his unapologetic, almost nostalgic description of an abusive sexual relationship.  Add to that the visits to prostitutes…hey, wait a minute this all sounds so familiar.  Perhaps it is that Naipaul is reported to have had abusive relationships and was known for frequenting brothels.  Art imitating life?  “It isn’t that there’s no right and wrong here.  There’s no right.”

My rating for A Bend in the River  is an 8 out of 10.

To see the entire list, visit Modern Library’s 100 Best Novels.

Please share your own reviews or  comments by using the link below.

Next up, Elizabeth Bowen’s The Death of the Heart…

13 Comments

Filed under A Bend in the River

13 responses to “Book #83-A Bend in the River by V. S. Naipaul

  1. jon

    I’ve read several good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make such a magnificent informative web site.

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  3. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be again to read much more, thanks for that info.

  4. Many thanks for the art, previously interesting and compelling. I found my way here through Google, I am going to return once more 🙂

  5. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  6. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  7. It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  8. I just like the helpful information you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently. I’m somewhat certain I will

  9. Hello there, just turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to continue this in future. Many other folks will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers! recession

  10. I found just the info I currently looked in all places and just wasn’t able to uncover. What a ideal site

  11. It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what youfre talking about! Thanks

  12. thanks for this!!. However i did notice that your Rss Feed seems to be broken or not working. You might want to take a look at that. cheers

  13. Pingback: married dating

Leave a Reply

