Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Gulliver's TravelsSadly, this was not the tale I had in mind and I was just not able to get into the oft bizarre imaginings behind this well-known tale.  Perhaps that cartoon image of Gulliver tied down as a giant in the land of Lilliput prejudiced my expectations, but it was not at all what was expected and I found it difficult to adapt my thinking.  I must say, however, that Swift’s keen mind left little to the imagination as he observed the inhabitants of the various lands he came to with an eye for the obscure.

This is the tale of Lemuel Gulliver, an Englishman whose travels in 1699 take him to otherworldly lands.  First is Lilliput whose inhabitants are a mere 6 inches tall.  Next stop is Brobdingnag, the polar opposite, where Gulliver is the miniature man about town.  He continues on to other parts unknown, including a flying island, a land of extremely intelligent talking horses and lastly to the country of the Houyhnhnms.

I think my time with Mr. Swift might prove a bit uncomfortable, however, I’d brace myself and hope for the best for this genius surely has much to offer in the skill of imagination and writing.

My rating for Gulliver’s Travels is a 6 out of 10.

Please share your own reviews or comments by using the link below.

Next up, Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Uncle Tom’s CabinUncle Tom's Cabin

Leave a comment

Filed under Gulliver's Travels

Leave a Reply

