Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

Gravity's RainbowI’ll start by saying I may not be qualified to review Gravity’s Rainbow since I can’t, with good conscience, claim I read the book, but rather slogged through it.  A book of such renown and volume required more than my typical week and like others recently, I gave it a two-week allowance.  Alas the extra time did not provide the hoped for concentration I desired.

Perhaps I’ve become a bit stodgy or like some members of the Pulitzer Board had difficulty with its coprophilic focus.  It would be too easy to refer to it as a rather shitty book so while I should not, I just can’t resist.

Following World War II, we meet an oddball cast of lascivious and deceitful characters as they attempt to uncover secrets of a mysterious German weapon.  From there, the frenzy begins and doesn’t let up…

Since I doubt Mr. Pynchon would agree to meet with me, I’d have to create a diversion to allow such an encounter.  Perhaps he has returned to his Long Island roots where I could lie in wait…What would I ask of such a man?  How he meant his work to be understood would be a good start for me.

My rating for Gravity’s Rainbow is a 1 out of 10.

Please share your own reviews or comments by using the link below.

Next up, Herman Melville’s Moby DickMoby Dick

5 Comments

Filed under Gravity's Rainbow

5 responses to “Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

  1. If you’re feeling particularly masochistic you could dip your toes in my college essay on Gravity’s Rainbow – http://theknockingshop.blogspot.ie/p/gravitys-rainbow-hegels-phenomenology.html I loved this when I was twenty, at the third attempt, I think. It has to click.

    • vsudia

      Wow how cool that you posted that essay and you apparently got more out of it back then than I just did. I’ve become aware that many read it with a guide, but that’s just not something I wanted to do, although it may have helped…Glad to see you’re still out here and love your album list.

      • Thanks! I actually read the whole book between waking and sleeping (took around thirty hours) while writing the essay. One of the wildest trips of my life. I was vaguely obsessed with the book! However, with four kids, some work, and a blog I find it difficult to find the time for such challenges. Glad you like the album list. I’m currently working on my next post.

  2. Read it again in about a year with Weisenburger’s guide at hand. Don’t hurry, take at least a month. Not every book can be read in a week or two. Quite often, instead of saying “the book is too demanding, and I don’t know enough to fully enjoy it”, we tend to say “the book sucks”. It’s normal. I’ve myself been guilty of such a reaction quite a few times. Such books get written once in a century, and if read carefully, it will bring you immense rewards. In the meanwhile, check out one of the best early reviews of the novel: http://www.nytimes.com/books/97/05/18/reviews/pynchon-rainbow.html

    • vsudia

      Thanks for the comment; I realize it was a lofty undertaking for even a two-week period and perhaps will revisit again with guide in hand.

Leave a Reply

